Thrift Store Bargains

This weekend I took a quick jaunt over to my local Alabama Thrift Store.  After a few moments perusing the aisles, I came upon the aisle of misfit toys.  Seriously, this place needed a maid badly.  Piles upon piles of toys were strewn across the floors, shelves and were falling into each and every aisle.  Needless to say, people obviously didn’t care what their kids did to the merchandise in here.  It was horrible.  Still, I mustered my courage and braved the wreckage.  I slowly maneuvered my way through the fallen toys over to a shelf full of games and puzzles.  It was then that my eyes beheld a wonder of wonders.  2, count them 2 unopened still in the plastic wrap versions of Reiner Knezia’s Tower of Babel board game.  I quickly snatched up the nearest one and looked it over, admiring the $4.99 price tag on top.  Ah yes, this was definitely my lucky day.  I headed toward the check out line with swag in hand.  Smiling from ear to ear, I handed the cashier the requested amount of money and hurriedly made my way home to enjoy my newly acquired loot.  Upon opening the box, I beheld a wonder of design and beauty.  The artwork was truly lovely, especially on both the front and backside of the board.  Such skillfully crafted tokens that made me gasp upon seeing the bright colors.  Cards that were truly lovely to look at.  Laying them all aside, I picked up the rules only to find that they were so difficult to understand that I had to read them 3-4 times.  There were only 4 pages of rules, front and back, with the back being almost completely pictures of the action cards.  Seriously, this was the worst and most difficult set of rules that I’ve ever tried to read in my life.  Maybe I was just tired and needed some sleep, who knows.  Regardless, I placed them back into the box along with the other pieces to be looked upon the following morning.  After a well deserved rest, things were a little clearer.  Reading the rules this time made a little more sense.  Now to wait for game day at my friend’s house, whereupon I shall unveil my crown jewel of thrift shop gaming to the delight of all.  Can’t wait.  (to be continued?)

About Gaming Bits - Jonathan Nelson

I'm a happily married man with 2 wonderful kids. I love my family very much. I'm a big fan of board, card and RPG games and have been playing for over 20 years. As a board and card game reviewer, I'm hoping that this blog will inform, educate and entertain you. If you like it, please tell your friends and have them join in on the conversations. Thanks and GAME ON!!
This entry was posted in Reviews, Thrifty Bargains and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

