Tower of Babel Review

Image

Tower of Babel is a game by Reiner Knizia and published by Hans im Gluck and Rio Grande Games.  I recently found my copy, discarded and given away to my local thrift store.  WOW!  Who would have thought that I’d find such a treasure still in the shrink wrap and unopened.  Needless to say, I was thrilled at my find.  Anyway, this game is for 3-5 players, but can be played with 2 if you use some of the variant rules posted on Board Game Geek.  It makes for a little bit different game play but not that much of a difference.  Your job, as players, is to build the 8 wonders of the ancient world.  However, no more than 7 can be built, thus the tag line on the front cover.  Using cards that represent the different methods of building, the players match up cards with tokens on the board through negotiation, earning victory points along the way.  Winning is accomplished by who best can manipulate the building tasks and negotiations to earn the most victory points.  There is an extra set of cards called action cards, which the publisher added not the designer.  Knizia himself felt that these cards damage the balance of the game and urge the game to be played without them.  I played the game with every intention of using them but felt absolutely no reason or urge to ever draw from the deck.  Personally, I felt that the game plays fine without them.

Image

COMPONENTS

The board is a beauty of design.  I love games that use the outside of the board for keeping track of victory points.  Lords of Waterdeep, I’m looking at you.  However, my 13 year old son’s first remark upon seeing the board was to point out the anatomical accuracy of the Colossus at Rhodes depicted in the center.  Needless to say, we used one of the extra discs to cover this up so he would stop laughing about it.  The game comes with SEVERAL colored wooden pieces in 5 colors used to track the monuments that each player participates in building.  Very nice.  There are circular cardboard discs that the players negotiate for that are very thick and sturdy.  Lastly, there are the cards.  Very nice design but a little smaller than I would have liked.  Personally, I would have preferred larger cards as the small ones tend to be difficult to hold onto, at least to me that is.

8 out of 10

RULEBOOK

As I’ve stated before in my Thrifty Bargains post, I had a difficult time with the rules, needing to read them multiple times before finally understanding them.  With only 4 pages, you wouldn’t expect difficulties.  I am going to chalk this up to the lateness of the day while reading.  Surely it was just my tiredness that made it difficult to understand.

7 out of 10

GAMEPLAY

Overall, the game was easy to play, once I was able to get through the rules.  It was lots of fun with a kind of take that style of play that my son seems to love.  I would say the sweet spot of this game would be between 3-5 players.  As for the theme, I felt that every decision I made had consequences that either helped or hindered my monument building.  It’s a fairly fast enough game, lasting only about 30-45 minutes depending on the amount of players.  As for theme, there will be those who feel like the game is too close to 7 Wonders to be relevant.  If you think this, you couldn’t be farther from the truth.  While the theme is the same, the gameplay feels radically different enough to warrant owning both games.  I love 7 Wonders and yet this game still entertains me enough to warrant keeping both games.  It is truly a delightful game to look at and to play.

8 out of 10

OVERALL

Tower of Babel is a light weight style game that is fun for anyone.  With a very small price tag online, there is no reason why you shouldn’t get this game.  It appeals to every age group and is a beauty to look at.

8 out of 10

funagain-associates-sm-1

buy-this-game-btn-dice

About Gaming Bits - Jonathan Nelson

I'm a happily married man with 2 wonderful kids. I love my family very much. I'm a big fan of board, card and RPG games and have been playing for over 20 years. As a board and card game reviewer, I'm hoping that this blog will inform, educate and entertain you. If you like it, please tell your friends and have them join in on the conversations. Thanks and GAME ON!!
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tower of Babel Review

  1. Heya! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new iphone! Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look forward to all your posts! Keep up the fantastic work!
    Chaussures Nike Air Jordan 11 Femme Violet Noir http://www.gajeuk.com/chaussures-nike-air-jordan-11-femme-violet-noir-p-520.html

  2. not that much of a internet reader to be honest but your blogs really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your site to come back in the future. Many thanks
    France Nike Air Max 90 Gris Bleu Blanc Pas Cher Femme http://www.boutiqueairjordanpascher.fr/france-nike-air-max-90-gris-bleu-blanc-pas-cher-femme-p-4334.html

  3. This is a terrific web site, could you be interested in doing an interview about how you designed it? If so e-mail me!
    Chaussures Nike Air Jordan 11 Femme Noir Violet http://www.gajeuk.com/chaussures-nike-air-jordan-11-femme-noir-violet-p-145.html

  4. Hello there! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be okay. I’m undoubtedly enjoying your blog and look forward to new posts.
    Chaussures Nike Air Max 2011-femme Gris Rose Bleu http://www.aluggageexitinsits.net/chaussures-nike-air-max-2011femme-gris-rose-bleu-p-226.html

Leave a Reply

