Robot Face Race Review

prod2889_1_lg

Robot Face Race is a game by Ivan Moscovich, published by Educational Insights. It is for 2-4 players. In this game, players will be trying to match faces to place their scoring tokens. The player that is best able to recognize the patterns will be declared the winner.
To begin, each player chooses a color and receives the 5 scoring tokens of that color. The robot randomizer and main board are placed where everyone can reach and see them. Play now begins.

The starting player takes the robot randomizer and shakes it vigorously. It is then placed on the table for all players to see. The randomizer will show a combination of eyes, nose, mouth and face. The colored balls will show what color of each must be matched. All players will then try their best to scan the game board looking for the correct robot face with the appropriate colors for each part. When a player spots it, they will place their scoring token on top of the face. If it matches the randomizers colors, the next player in turn order will now shake the randomizer to prepare for the next face. If the guess is incorrect, the player sits out the rest of that particular round. This continues until a player is able to place all 5 of their scoring tokens correctly onto the board. The player that does that will be the winner.

prod2889_3_lg

COMPONENTS
This game has only a few components. The board is really nice and colorful with the numerous robot faces printed on it. It looks very nice. The scoring tokens are thick cardboard and are shaped like robot faces. They are very bright and colorful and have a glossy smooth surface. I love the look of these. The robot randomizer is a large plastic dome with several colored balls inside that when shaken and placed on the table, will fall into the base to determine the facial colors that must be matched. This is a really great idea for randomization. I love how cool this looks and is. It’s really strong and sturdy and looks like it can take a lot of game play. Really nice components.
9 out of 10

RULEBOOK
The rulebook isn’t very large. As a matter of fact, as you can tell from my earlier setup, there aren’t a lot of rules to this game. There are some pictures and everything is in bright color. There are international rules for French, German and Spanish. Short, sweet and to the point. That’s all you need and will only need to look at them once. Nicely done.
9 out of 10

GAMEPLAY
This game was fun to play, for about the first few minutes. After that, it started becoming tedious to me. My 4 year old had a lot of difficulty trying to find the correct faces. I won’t lie to you, I had difficulty as well. It took me repeating the patterns aloud for my daughter to get anywhere close to the correct face. Needless to say, she got bored of the game rather quickly and was ready to play something else. It seemed a bit mind numbing to me. I really found no fun in this one and neither did she. Perhaps older kids would be better at it than we were, I don’t know. As it was, this just wasn’t fun for either one of us.
6 out of 10

OVERALL
Robot Face Race is a light game of pattern recognition. It sharpens visual acuity and hones concentration. That said, it seemed to me that the game was a bit too difficult for the recommended age group. I know the box says ages 4 and up, but I feel that it might be better for older kids. Maybe if there were less options to choose from it would be more appropriate. I may have to enforce a house rule of just finding 1 or 2 of the face components, at least till my daughter can better recognize the patterns. Don’t get me wrong, this isn’t a bad game, it just didn’t work well for us. As I stated earlier, it took me awhile to find the correct faces myself. That said, I wouldn’t recommend this for younger children unless you plan on simplifying things a bit. Who knows though, maybe your kids will like it better than mine did. For us, it’s a pass.
7 out of 10

funagain-associates-sm-1

For more information about this and other great games, please check out Educational Insights at their site.

http://educationalinsights.com

About Gaming Bits - Jonathan Nelson

I'm a happily married man with 2 wonderful kids. I love my family very much. I'm a big fan of board, card and RPG games and have been playing for over 20 years. As a board and card game reviewer, I'm hoping that this blog will inform, educate and entertain you. If you like it, please tell your friends and have them join in on the conversations. Thanks and GAME ON!!
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

