Reading Roundup Review

prod3400_3_lg

Reading Roundup is a game published by Educational Insights. It is for 2-4 players. In this game, players will travel around the board matching words to empty their hand. The player that is best able to do that and make it back to their home base will be declared the winner.

To begin, each player chooses an animal game piece and places it in the matching colored home base spot. The word cards are shuffled. Each player is dealt 5 cards which they then place face up in front of themself. The rest of the cards are set aside and won’t be used. Play now begins.

On a player’s turn, they may move their animal token one space connected by a lasso path. If they land on a space that has 1 or 2 of the words that are on one of their cards, they may say the word and flip the card face down. If there aren’t any matching words, they must wait there until their next turn. Players may only move 1 space and only in the same direction that the birds show. Once a player has flipped all of their cards over, they may begin to move their animal token back to their home base. Of course, they may only move one space per turn, just like they would if they had no matching word cards. The first one to reach their home base is the winner.

prod3400_2_lg

COMPONENTS
There aren’t really a lot of pieces to this game. The game board is really nice with lots of bright colors. The words are easy to read. The cards are standard size and are sturdy enough for repeated play. The words are large enough on them that you can read them with no trouble. The animal tokens are thick and sturdy cardboard with a glossy finish. The art work is really cute and fun. My daughter is a big fan of the owl. I think she might be a wizard in training. Next stop, Hogwarts. I find myself playing the fox a lot. I can’t help it, I even sing out, “What does the Fox say?” when I place my token on the board. That always gets a laugh. Needless to say, we really like the components in this one.
9 out of 10

RULEBOOK
There is no rulebook with this game. Instead, the rules are printed on the inside cover of the box lid. I guess that’s why they say the game is Eco Friendly, no paper waste. Of course the fact that the game is printed with vegetable based ink on recycled paper and board is also another reason for the Eco Friendly label. Anyway, there is no real need for a book though as the rules are simple enough to learn. Read the box cover once and you’re ready to go. Really cool idea that saves paper. I like it.
9 out of 10

GAMEPLAY
The game isn’t hard to learn or play, even for my 4 year old. She loves moving the animals around the board. As a matter of fact, she’s surprised me in how many words she actually knows by sight. I really thought that she might have some difficulty playing this but I’ve had to help very little with it. I like the fact that she’s learning how to read every time she plays it. The words are easy to read. The rules state that this game includes 25 basic building block words. That’s great for helping any child to learn to read. The game isn’t very long to play, even with 4 players. It usually lasts anywhere from 10-15 minutes. A really good educational game that the kids enjoy playing.
9 out of 10

OVERALL
Reading Roundup is a light educational game of reading and word recognition. Like the other Educational Insights games, this one emphasizes social skills and turn taking. It helps young children learn to read by using the 25 building block words that are included in the game. This is one that my daughter likes to play fairly often. She likes the animal tokens and loves moving them around the board. The fact that it’s helping her learn to read makes me happy. I recommend this one for parents of younger children, especially those learning to read. This is a really great game that I don’t mind playing at all. Playing with the cards face up as the rules suggest has made it possible for me to help my daughter find her words on the board. I’m guessing that was the designer’s intent. Good job. In any case, do your kids a favor and help them learn by buying a copy of this game. You’ll have fun and so will they.
9 out of 10

funagain-associates-sm-1

For more information about this and other great games, please check out Educational Insights at their site.

http://educationalinsights.com

About Gaming Bits - Jonathan Nelson

I'm a happily married man with 2 wonderful kids. I love my family very much. I'm a big fan of board, card and RPG games and have been playing for over 20 years. As a board and card game reviewer, I'm hoping that this blog will inform, educate and entertain you. If you like it, please tell your friends and have them join in on the conversations. Thanks and GAME ON!!
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

