Preview Review of Twilight Sparkle’s Secret Shipfic Folder The Card Game

medium

Recently I was given the opportunity to check out a new game. I received a link to the pdfs of the game along with rules for play. This is my thoughts and opinions on the presented materials. Enjoy!

Twilight Sparkle’s Secret Shipfic Folder The Card Game is a game designed  in collaboration by Horrible People Productions.  It is for 2-5 players. In this game, players will be in the world of My Little Pony Friendship is Magic. They will be making relationship connections between Twilight Sparkle and every other pony in Ponyville. They will also be trying to complete goals. Every goal that is completed will give the player a certain number of points. Those points will bring the player closer to victory. Depending on the number of players will determine the point total for achieving victory, ranging from 10-6 points. I’m not going to get deep into the rules here as they can be easily downloaded from the following link.

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1VRDbVs9w_-UT0i5HUPpsXRM-kSTArhwBIfMrtDA6Jko/edit

The rules along with all the different cards can be downloaded from the website. It’s then just a simple matter of a little print and play magic.

mlp1

COMPONENTS
The cards in this game are very silly and funny. Being a twisted and humorous take on the My Little Pony world, I find myself laughing at the silliness. There is a definite Munchkin like tone to the card humor. The design is very neat and I look forward to being able to take some time to actually craft my own copy of the game.
8 out of 10

RULEBOOK
The rules are easily printed out. Everything is explained really well and appears to be fairly simple to play. There are examples of play, a glossary of terms used in the game, helpful tips, variations and even a FAQ section. The rules seem fairly straight forward but if they aren’t there’s a link where you can get some rules clarifications. Pretty nicely done if you ask me.
8 out of 10

GAMEPLAY
The setup for the game appears fairly simple and fast with a game time of only 30 minutes. The game mechanics appear fairly simple and look easy even for younger players. I didn’t see anything in the rules or cards that looked like it might give players any trouble. All in all the game looks to be a really light quick game that should be lots of fun.
8 out of 10

OVERALL
Twilight Sparkle’s Secret Shipfic Folder looks to be a light game of hand management and pattern building. I’d say that fans of the My Little Pony Friendship is Magic show or the Munchkin card game should probably like this. I feel that this would appeal to anyone that likes light humorous games. It looks really simple and easy for even younger players. Overall, I can say that this looks like something my daughter would definitely love as she’s a big MLP fan. Secretly, her dad is too. Check it out and give it a try.
8 out of 10

funagain-associates-sm-1

For more information about this game and it’s expansions, please check out Horrible People Games at their site.

http://www.patreon.com/horriblepeople

 

About Gaming Bits - Jonathan Nelson

I'm a happily married man with 2 wonderful kids. I love my family very much. I'm a big fan of board, card and RPG games and have been playing for over 20 years. As a board and card game reviewer, I'm hoping that this blog will inform, educate and entertain you. If you like it, please tell your friends and have them join in on the conversations. Thanks and GAME ON!!
This entry was posted in Preview Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

