Go7Gaming LEG-002 insert for Marvel Legendary Review

Recently I was given the opportunity to check out a product from Go7Gaming’s line of Heritage Inserts. That product was the LEG-002 Insert for Marvel Legendary. I received it in a flat rate shipping box with a big bundle of wooden sheets inside a large ziplock bag. After removing the sheets from the packaging, it was ready to assemble.

I would like to state that for some reason there were no instructions included with the insert. Of course this wasn’t a major problem as I was able to go online using my phone to the Go7Gaming website to read over the Build Instructions that were on the product page. I will also mention that with only a few pieces to assemble, it would have been fairly easy to figure out even without the online instructions.

Now then, let me explain exactly what this product is and what it does. First off, this is an insert for Marvel Legendary. It will not work with Villains or any of the other Legendary line of games. Once assembly is complete, the insert makes it possible to keep your game organized and in one box. There’s a whole lot of room so it’s possible to add a lot of smaller and large box expansions. For me, I’ve included the following large box expansions; Dark City, Civil War, X-men and Secret Wars Volume 1 and Volume 2. I’ve also included the following small box expansions; Fantastic Four, Paint the Town Red and Guardians of the Galaxy. As you’ll see from the pictures below, there are a lot of cards inside the box. There’s still a little bit of room which will hopefully be able to hold at least 1 more small box expansion. In any event, let’s get into the assembly process.

To start with you’ll want to separate out all of the different wooden sheets. The pieces are all cut so that they separate fairly easily from the boards. I’d like to mention that when assembling, it’s normally a good idea to dry fit the pieces together first so that you have an idea of where each one goes. It’s also a good idea to use either glue or tape to hold everything together. Glue is stronger and more resilient but tape works fairly good too. Throughout this review I will not be pointing out when to use glue. Just be aware that if there are 2 pieces being connected together, it’s probably a good idea to use glue on both. With that said, let’s get to it.

This insert contains only 1 large insert for the main box with 4 channels for cards so it’s fairly easy to figure out. The first thing you’ll want to do is take the base of the insert and make sure that it fits inside the bottom of your box. If it does, then you’ve got the right insert and can continue. Next you’ll want to take the 3 inner walls with the slots in the top and attach them to the base. You’ll also want to fit the 2 outer walls onto the base making sure to fit the tabs into the slots of the outer walls. Once these are in place things should be fairly stable and should look something like this.

The next step is to attach the final 2 slotted outer walls, connecting them to the base and the other outer walls. When you’re finished it should look like this. Now that you’re finished, you can set it aside to let the glue dry.

Once everything is dry, you can place the insert into the box, like so.

Now you’re free to add your cards and dividers to the box in what ever manner you choose. Here are a few pictures where I’ve added my cards to the box. As you can tell, I have a few things that I’ve yet to remove the plastic from. I’ve also left a space in the front right corner for the tokens from Guardians of the Galaxy. The last picture shows where I’ve placed the board on top.

 

MATERIALS
For this section I’ll go over the packaging and materials of the insert. The materials all came inside a flat rate shipping box. Inside the box was a large ziplock style bag with the large boards and a smaller ziplock bag with the dividers. These 2 were shrink wrapped together. I removed the shrink wrap before taking the first picture. The wooden sheets were all thick and sturdy. Everything seemed to be of good quality. The pieces appeared to have been laser cut. Each one was fairly easy to punch out from the board. There was just the wooden pieces without any glue or tape to hold everything together with. You will need to supply those yourself. I didn’t really have any trouble putting everything together. It was pretty simple and straight forward. When I was finished, it looked great and held a ton of cards. Overall I’m quite pleased with the look and feel of the product.
9 out of 10

INSTRUCTION
For this insert there were no instructions. I’m not sure if this was a mistake or if there actually are no instructions. In any event, I went to the website and read over the instructions online. Of course the insert is so simple to assemble, I could have figured it out even without any help from the website. The online instructions were fairly easy to understand. Like I said, I’m pretty sure that I could have done it myself. Needless to say, since there were no instructions with my insert, I won’t give a rating to that aspect of this review.
—-

CONSTRUCTION
The construction of this insert was fairly simple and pretty quick to put together. I honestly think it took more time to look up the instructions online with my phone than the actual assembly process. With only the 1 large insert to put together, it only took a few minutes. As you can tell from the pictures, it was easy. I was able to put all of the cards that I have for the game inside this one box now. That’s 5 big box expansions, 3 small box expansions and the core game all inside the main box. Before I’d had to use one of the big box expansion boxes to hold a good chunk of the cards. That took up more of my precious shelf space that could have been used for other games. With this insert inside the box now, I don’t have to worry about that anymore. The only problem that I could find about the insert was that when I placed the rulebooks and the board on top of the insert, it was not flush with the bottom of the box. That meant that when I placed the box lid on, it didn’t go all the way down. Much like I’ve found with some other inserts, the box lid raises up a bit which could cause some damage. In this case, the board could be damaged. I might need to consider getting one of those mats that roll up. I think that for people that don’t have quite as many cards, they might be able to place one of those mats inside one of the card channels of the insert. In any event, it was a bit disheartening that the lid didn’t go down snug. Still, I’ve removed an extra box from my shelf and can now add something else to my game wall. Let me tell you though, with the insert inside and the box full, there’s quite a bit of weight to this box now. I weighed it and it was a little over 15 pounds. I handed it to my wife and she almost dropped it because she wasn’t expecting it to be that heavy. I will say that the dividers are nice and help to separate things a bit, but I’m not sure exactly how I’ll keep them. I’ll most likely need some cardboard dividers with the names of the characters on them so that I can find things easier. Of course that’s not the insert’s fault, so I’m not blaming it. Overall, I’m pleased with the final results and the look of this insert.
8 out of 10

OVERALL
The LEG-002 Insert for Marvel Legendary is a great way to store a ton of cards for the game. It has a lot of room to keep a lot of cards. I was able to store the core game, 5 big box expansions and 3 small box expansions inside the main box. I don’t think that I’ll be able to add much more but I look forward to trying. The assembly process was pretty easy, even without an instruction sheet. I’m still unsure if that was intended or a mistake. The insert is very strong and holds plenty of cards. The one negative that I can say is that the box lid doesn’t go all the way down flush with the box. When placing the game board on top of the insert it causes the lid to raise up just a bit. That was a little disheartening for me, but being able to place as much material inside the main box as I was able to made me pretty happy. Overall, I’m fairly pleased with the look and functionality of the insert. I would definitely recommend it if you have anything more than just the core game and possibly an expansion or two. It’s a good quality product made by good quality people. I think that you’ll be happy with it, as well as the great customer service that you’ll get from the people at Go7Gaming. Guaranteed.
8 out of 10

funagain-associates-sm-1

For more information about this and other great products, please check out Go7Gaming at their site.

http://go7gaming.com/

About Gaming Bits - Jonathan Nelson

I'm a happily married man with 2 wonderful kids. I love my family very much. I'm a big fan of board, card and RPG games and have been playing for over 20 years. As a board and card game reviewer, I'm hoping that this blog will inform, educate and entertain you. If you like it, please tell your friends and have them join in on the conversations. Thanks and GAME ON!!
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Go7Gaming LEG-002 insert for Marvel Legendary Review

  1. Pingback: LEG-002 Review – Go7Gaming

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.