The Scripture Pack and The Christians Who Curse Sometimes Pack expansions review

The Scripture Captions Pack and Christians Who Curse Sometimes Pack are caption card pack expansions for the Christian Meme Game by Dakota and Jaclyn Yates. Each of these expansions adds 50 new themed caption cards for the base game.

For more information on the base game, please check out the link

below.https://jlnelson73.wordpress.com/2024/03/22/the-christian-meme-game-review/

In this review I will be covering these 2 caption card expansion packs for the game. As I mentioned earlier, each pack contains 50 new caption cards. The Scripture Pack contains caption cards that focus on Biblical scriptures and the conviction and encouragement they bring to our lives, while the Christians Who Curse Sometimes Pack contains cards that are a little more adult oriented or as the box says NSFK (Not Safe For Karens or players under 18). Either or both of these packs may be added into the game for more variety or they may be used by themselves along with the photo cards from the base game.

COMPONENTS
As mentioned above each pack contains 50 caption cards that fit the theme. The Scripture pack has funny captions based on scriptures and encouragement. The Christians Who Curse Sometimes pack has captions a little more on the edgy side, no real curse words but topics a little more on the adult side. Each of the cards are the same size and quality of the caption cards from the base game and add a lot more variety to the core game. The captions really fit the theme of each pack quite well, as you’ll be able to tell from the pictures. The cards in these packs, like those in the other caption packs, are pretty funny. The Scripture pack is family friendly and clean. The Christians Who Curse Sometimes, while not vulgar or offensive like what you’d find in Cards Against Humanity or even What Do You Meme, they can be a bit more suggestive or innuendo based. These I would not recommend to use with children. The 18 and above rating is pretty appropriate. With adults, I don’t really think that most people will find it offensive. I guess it’s just more in what you find offensive. While I don’t know exactly how much I will use these, as most of the time I play this game with my kids or with family, I’m still glad to have them for the right crowd. Overall the quality and look of each of these cards is great and they add a lot to the core game.
8 out of 10

RULEBOOK These caption card packs have no rulebook included in the tuckbox, so there’s nothing to review here. ———–

GAMEPLAY
These card packs don’t add any new photos but what they do add is a lot more laughs and fun. As I’ve mentioned before, these types of games can get old and redundant very quickly and very easily, especially if you play it a lot. These packs add 50 more cards per pack and they extend the life of the game quite a bit. I think they’re an absolute great addition to an already fun game. Players that are looking to add more Bible based captions and theming to the game, will thoroughly enjoy the Scripture pack. Of the two packs, this is my personal choice. It’s family friendly and would be great to use in a youth night or church game night. Since we are homeschoolers, this is a great addition to our Bible class and gives a bit of fun to what can be a very heavy reading subject. Honestly of all the caption packs that I’ve tried, this is by far my favorite pack. As for the Christians Who Curse Sometimes pack, this one is at the bottom of my list and I would not call it family friendly, especially not for younger kids. While not outright vulgar or obscene, it does get a bit close to the line on some of the cards. Adults shouldn’t have a problem with this pack but I wouldn’t advise playing it with Grandma, you might learn something about her you didn’t want to know. At the very least, you might get embarrassed. In other words, only play this pack with the right group of same minded adults. I will advise that this pack isn’t for everyone, but it’s fun with the right group. If you enjoy the core game and are looking to add more humorous content to an already packed game, then by all means pick up one or both of these packs, especially if the theme suits you. If however you’re breaking the game out once every couple of months, then you’ll probably want to wait before adding these. For me and my family, I’m thankful to have both packs, but a little more so the Scripture one, as I’m really only able to play the other pack with my brother and his wife. Overall I would highly recommend the Scripture pack but would say the Christians Who Curse Sometimes pack is more of a pass for our group. Your mileage may vary. The Scripture pack I’d give a 9 and the Curse pack a 7. Averaging that gives us this combined rating.
8 out of 10

OVERALL
The Scripture Pack and Christians Who Curse Sometimes Pack are caption pack expansions for the Christian Meme Game that adds 50 caption cards each to the game. The captions in both packs are all very funny and the cards are the same quality and size as the core game. These only add caption cards to the game so if players are wanting more photo cards, they’ll need to grab one of the photo packs. Players that already enjoy the game or that are looking for more captions, especially of a specific variety, will enjoy the laughter that these cards bring. The Scripture pack focuses more on Bible scriptures, while the Christians Who Curse Sometimes pack is more adult oriented humor and not kid friendly. Again I will add this caveat, this last pack is not for children and should be played only with like minded adults. While not really vulgar or offensive, it does have more adult concepts and humor. If either of these themes sound like fun to you, then I would suggest picking up the corresponding card pack for the core game. I absolutely love the Scripture pack and will be using it a bunch. I would absolutely recommend it. The other pack will most likely only come out when the kids are at grandparents and the couples are having game night. I would not recommend it as highly as any of the other caption packs. It’s a little bit more edgy than I’d feel comfortable playing in mixed company. The Scripture pack I’d give a 9 and the Curse pack a 7. Averaging that gives us this combined rating.
8 out of 10

For more information about these expansions or the core game, please check out the game’s site.

https://thechristianmemegame.com

About Gaming Bits - Jonathan Nelson

I'm a happily married man with 2 wonderful kids. I love my family very much. I'm a big fan of board, card and RPG games and have been playing for over 20 years. As a board and card game reviewer, I'm hoping that this blog will inform, educate and entertain you. If you like it, please tell your friends and have them join in on the conversations. Thanks and GAME ON!!
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.